Medication Adherence

View all ForumsBack to Lesson
Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author

I am just beginning my position within EPI, so have not yet had an experience faced with challenges about a client’s medication. When the time comes, I would ensure the client and their family had the appropriate information regarding side effects, as well as benefits to the medication in preventing relapse and mood management were discussed. I would explain that the psychiatrist will start on lowest dose and slowly increase to mitigate risk of side effects, and contact would be kept on regular basis to monitor symptoms and discuss concerns. The other important aspect would be ensuring to involve the family and the client’s support system in explaining the medication, its uses, and side effects. In regards to discussing potential sexual side effects with the client, I would gauge this with the client’s age and developmental level.

Hi Victoria, you shared some great points.
      As a nurse I have had a lot of experiences working with medication management, especially in cases of psychosis from acute to chronic management.
      I think all of the points you shared are key in assisting with medication management in EPI.
      In my practice experiences one of the key components I found helpful was explaining why. I know this sounds simple but I feel it is commonly forgotten, for example yes the client has to do blood work on certain intervals though explaining why this needs to be done and the concerns if it is not definitely aides with compliance and their overall understanding of their own treatment which is crucial for their own wellbeing.